How to improve your casual wear

To each individual, casual dress translates to their style and the style they feel most comfortable in. When you’re away from your 9-5 during the week the clothing you put on your back is more than likely going to be casual. That doesn’t mean we should lose all sense of style, if you’re serious about looking good then a proactive approach is needed to achieve this goal.

As much as we hate to admit it, appearances DO matter and they affect a man’s daily life in real and fundamental ways. How you are perceived by others before you open your mouth depends on the physical signals you send with your appearance.

_MG_1398

In my experience I’ve had many people come up to me asking me for directions or even purposefully asking me for money. Why? because they have taken a look at my appearance and come to the conclusion that this person is well dressed, looks after them self and therefore maybe they will be able to assist me with something I require. Whenever my wife and I leave the house I will usually take some time to decide how I will dress casually instead of just throwing on a t-shirt and jeans every time, so much so that I will usually take longer than her to get dressed and her usual response will be “You not going to a fashion show!” I usually just laugh her off but the point I’m trying to make is that making a little bit of effort in your casual wear can go a long way. I’ve found that making a little bit of extra effort has improved my confidence, helped me take a step to my overall self-improvement and make a good first impression. Below I’ve listed a few practical ways we can improve our casual wear.

_MG_1340 1

  1. Dress like a Grown-Up, Not a Boy

I struggled with this one and I’m sure many men do. I was a terrible dresser. I had accumulated many hoodies and superhero t-shirts over the years and it was tough letting go of some because as most people will know I am a huge nerd and loved my nerdy t-shirts but I decided to give some away and the ones I had left I decided to keep for when it was the right time and place for them. I’m not saying you should throw all those t-shirts away I just saying sometimes we need to give it a pass if we would like to improve our personal style. Many men approach their casual style with the wrong mind set; they aim to look youthful. But if you want to look well-dressed, you should always aim to look mature, because maturity is an attractive quality in men. Maturity, after all, is what separates the men from the boys. It’s a quality you want people to see in you.

_MG_1452

 

  1. Invest in Improving the Basics

There are certain items that will never go out of style these are staple clothing items that need to be in every man’s wardrobe. A bomber jacket, a leather jacket, quality plain tees, white sneakers and a good variety of jeans these are but a few items that are important in your wardrobe. These items are the base you need in order to build up your casual wear and improve your style. These items are also so versatile that they can be used interchangeably to create different outfits.

_MG_1419 1

  1. Find your Personal Style

Everyone has a personal sense of style they have developed over the years. They have a set idea of what they like and what they would never be caught dead in. When improving your casual style you will need to open your mind up to what is out there, do some research and have a look at new things you like. This takes work and some thinking. The question you need to ask yourself is how do you see yourself now and where can the improvements be made. A free tip! Try to find bloggers or models whose style you admire and follow them on Instagram, whenever they post a pic of an outfit you like save it a use it to help you build a wardrobe you’ll love. What I do is save it and then go shopping and find items that match that particular outfit and continue this tread until I’ve build up a wardrobe of respectable outfits.

_MG_1448

About this look:

My personal rule is to not mix too many bright colours together. Start with a neutral base and adding in extra details can help you build an outfit that’s both stylish and laid back.

Maintain a neutral palette with dark coloured jeans in a navy or black, and keep them slim fit. Skinnies always work for me as long as they’re not super tight. If you’re going for something in a looser fit, try and get a pair that’s tapered so you don’t end up with anything too baggy.

So you’ve completed your smart casual outfit, but you just need something to throw on over the top for those chilly days. As you can’t mix and match like you would with an outfit, your outerwear needs to be bang in the middle of smart casual. Your best bet is to choose something that’s in a neutral colour and a good fit, but in a more relaxed design like a Harrington or bomber jacket.

_MG_1442

Outfit Details

Jacket: Zara

T-shirt: Woolworths

Jeans: Woolworths

Shoes: Zara

Thank you for reading my blog! If you would like to stay up to date with my latest blogs or what I am doing check out my social media pages:

Facebook Page: Joshycapetown

Instagram: Joshycapetown

All photos by Goose Photography: Book here

_MG_1441

 

One thought on “How to improve your casual wear

Comments are closed.

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

