The Non-conformist

“To be yourself in a world that is constantly trying to make you something else is the greatest accomplishment.”

― Ralph Waldo Emerson

Hey guys!

Hope you are all good! It’s been a while since I’ve had the opportunity to sit down and blog and I’ve missed it incredibly! Since I’ve started blogging the bug has bitten me BIG TIME and I enjoy hearing the feedback from people and that they have enjoyed reading it as much as I’ve enjoyed writing each post. I want to talk about a subject that’s very close to my heart and it’s something that is always on my mind. I want to talk about conforming and not conforming in this day and age, I’ve always found myself to be something of a non-conformist when it comes to anything in life and I’ve found that it is so easy to fall in with what everyone is doing instead of stepping out of the crowd and being unashamed to be yourself.

IMG_1566

I feel that society has taught us that it’s better to follow what is “trending” than to work on being the best version of yourself you can be. A lot of us are different and we’re afraid to be different, we think that people in our world are better off knowing the “society friendly” you but that’s not true. There’s nothing that forces you to conform what everyone else thinks is cool. Below I wrote down a few points where I feel we try to conform on a daily basis

IMG_1581

  1. You a different person depending on who you’re with.

Sometimes our behaviour and personality is influenced by the people we hang out with. A classic example would be the fact that it is natural to act a certain way in the presence of friends, while at the same time avoiding that same behaviour when you are around family or co-workers. We do this because there might be certain expressions and things you do which you only feel comfortable doing around certain people. Those who do not conform know that performing a different routine for every single group of people they come across can quickly become exhausting.

IMG_1586

  1. You pretend to like things to impress people.

Faking your way into a relationship is textbook conformity. Having a mutual interest with another person can create common ground, opening the door for a friendship to blossom, but this process can only happen if it occurs in an atmosphere of mutual honesty and openness. As a Nonconformist, I am always amazed at people who proclaim, “Oh yeah, I love that song!” when it’s clear that they are only saying that in a misguided effort to impress others. For example, I have noticed that everyone loves the new song “Despacito”. Now hear me out I’m not hating on the song, it’s a cool song, not really my taste but I’ve found it funny that normally people wouldn’t be drawn to the song had it not been remixed with Justin Bieber. The majority of people nowadays are not into Latin American music and believe me there is so much incredible Latin American music out there that most of the world has not been exposed to because it’s not trending.

IMG_1598

  1. You don’t buy clothes based on your personal preference.

If your wardrobe decisions are entirely based on seasonal styles, then you might be a conformist. I personally would never buy a clothing item for the sake of a new trend if I do not feel comfortable when I wear it.  There is nothing wrong with wanting to look good and feel handsome or sexy in your attire, but you should never abandon your unique tastes for whatever happens to be “in style” this year.

IMG_1607

  1. You’re afraid of what society thinks.

I used to struggle with this one daily! If you make important decisions based on what “society” thinks, then you might be conforming to what other people want you to be. It is human nature to want other people to like and accept us, but making life-changing decisions based on popular opinion (instead of your personal belief) will not make you happy or fulfilled. I’m reminded of a quote from Mark Twain, “Whenever you find yourself on the side of the majority, it is time to pause and reflect.”

IMG_1572

About my look:

Winter is here and Cape Town has definitely been feeling the chill but we have had some beautiful days in between. On those particular days I’ve enjoyed throwing on a long sleeve T-shirt instead of my usual short sleeve. My inspiration for this look came from the movie Don Jon. Ever since I watched that movie I loved the slim fit long sleeve look. Joseph Gordon-Lewitt completely owned the look in that movie. I paired it with a olive biker jean. We all know the biker jeans have been all the range this season and I loved this olive colour because I haven’t seen it in any other store and I love the uniqueness of it. My Hi-top shoes were also purchased at H&M and I love them because they are so versatile. I literally live in them now, they are one of my favourite shoes.

Long-sleeved T-Shirt Slim Fit: H&M Shop here

Olive Biker Jeans Slim Fit: H&M Shop here 

Hi-Top Trainers: H&M Shop here

IMG_1568

IMG_1575

 

2 thoughts on “The Non-conformist

Comments are closed.